Renew up to six months prior to expiration and keep your birthday expiration date. Upon completion of all verification checks, your plastic license will be mailed to you in approximately six to eight weeks after you receive your temporary license. Click to view Service Line: Information 768-3100 Road Test Information 768-3100 Hours Monday through Friday 7:45 a. Reporting a drivers license theft to your local law enforcement agency can help guard against fraud. You can find out which documents are acceptable in each state by visiting Driver-Start. If you create multiple accounts and apply for the same job, the duplicate applications will not be accepted. Steps to Get a New Drivers License in Hawaii as a Teen Younger Than 18 Regardless of your age when going through drivers license services to get a license, you must obtain a valid instructional permit first as long as you are at least 15 and a half years old.
For assistance with identifying acceptable supporting documents required to obtain a driver license, please visit our interactive or. Hawaiʻi driver licenses issued to applicants 25 through 71 years old shall expire on the first birthday eight years from the date of issuance. Many states require you to file a police report if your driver's license has been lost or stolen or if you know someone is using someone else's driver license numbers. If your state offers replacements online, we'll let you know. In addition, the locations below also have free public computers access. I lost my documents verifying birth abroad and do not have a U. When mailing from abroad, be sure to provide the correct address, or it is better to use a pre-addressed envelope.
We've also linked to available online forms for you to complete for a duplicate license. You are required to hold your instruction permit for a minimum of 180 days and must present your driver education certification before you are eligible to take the road test. You should note that the fees may vary depending on the county in Hawaii. Hawaii participates in a graduated drivers license program that establishes three stages of licensing for any drivers under the age of 18. It took quite awhile before the clerk could get a supervisor to ok it.
Follow the steps outlined below in the out-of-state drivers license replacement section to learn how to complete this process. In this case, you can send a request and even obtain a replaced license right from your home or office. A birth certificate or passport can verify your name and age, and a utility bill can prove your state residency. Unless you have a Social Security Number, you are required to visit the Social Security office and apply for a number. Please submit your provisional license and if you had not submitted on or after March 5, 2012, original documents that provide proof of identity, legal presence and social security number.
You may renew six 6 months before the license expiration date and have a grace period of 90 days after the license expiration date without penalty. Documentary proof of legal name, date of birth, social security number, legal presence and proof of principal residence address is not required when applying for a duplicate Hawaii State Identification Card unless you are changing current information on the card. You need to visit the nearest driver licensing center and complete an application for a type 3 car permit. This will allow us an ample amount of time to research your records, process your request and answer all of your questions before the end of our normal end of day processing time of 4:00 p. A probationary period may also be extended under certain circumstances. I'd feel a whole late safer than the usual glance they give to the driver's license.
This procedure is not available to the general public. If you have a foreign birth certificate, the certificate must be translated by a translator authorized by the Driver Licensing Section. It is also likely that you will need to complete a corresponding application form and to pay a fee. When is a replacement drivers license required in Hawaii? For assistance with identifying acceptable supporting documents required to obtain a driver's license, please consult our interactive. A stolen driver's license can be used for fraud or other illegal activities since the license serves not only as a document verifying your driving skills but also as an identification document. Then follow the replacement drivers license prompts and be prepared to pay the fees by major credit card.
Because you use your drivers license so frequently as a form of photo identification, it is important to keep it on hand and in the best condition possible. Applicants may appeal the administrative review decision to the Civil Service Commission within 20 calendar days after receipt of the written response to the informal complaint. You must also fill out a drivers license application form and pay the applicable fees. I also own a business in the U. When you visit the driver licensing center you will be required to complete an application for a type 3 car instruction permit. Upon passing the eye test and the written test, you will be issued a type 2 temporary permit. For Kauai or Maui county residents, please contact your local and ask for fee details.
During the probationary period an employee is not entitled to rights under any collective bargaining agreement. If you are currently out of the state, please visit for instructions on replacing your driver license or identification card. You are required to provide proof of legal name, date of birth, social security number, legal presence and principal address. How to Apply for a Drivers License in Hawaii as an Adult 18 or Older As discussed in the section above, when you are applying for a drivers license as someone who is younger than 18 years old, the requirements are very different than if you apply as an adult. Coming home, the same process except this time, as you experienced, I was asked to open my bags and wand-scanned.
Generally, you must pass a written knowledge exam and a road skills test. The online article does not include the writer's own experience with having to prove who she was. You will also need to send proof of a residential address such as a deed, voter registration card or utility bill. Without a valid license, you will not be able to drive legally in your state or present a valid form of identification when necessary. Printed electronically transmitted copy is okay. I was born at home and do not have a birth certificate. A temporary driver license can be received on the same day by visiting any Driver Licensing Center or select Satellite City Hall Fort Street Mall, Hawaiʻi Kai, Pearlridge, or Windward City to apply for the duplicate.