Residents who are military personnel living abroad can also submit a request for a renewal from abroad. Note: Sometimes the fee will vary slightly depending on your age at your birthday. The reason is that you must have a new picture taken at a driver service center. For more information visit the Tennessee Department of Revenue Vehicle Services website. Drivers with doubts about their eligibility should regarding meeting the necessary criteria. The receipt is only good for twenty 20 days.
Tennessee Drivers License Renewal Information Expiration Date The front part of your license will clearly state the date that your license expires. Prior to going, contact the Reinstatement Call Center to determine what is required to reinstate your license. Renewing your Tennessee Driver's License Tennessee requires that you renew your drivers license every 5 years. Remember that driving with an expired license carries the same violation as someone driving without a license. Drivers who opt not to renew their driver licenses can be ticketed and fined by law enforcement, and might even face jail sentences. . You need to apply via mail or in person for a Code 30, which allows your license to not expire.
You can speak with a customer service representative Monday through Friday between 8 a. For more information, contact the Tennessee Driver Services Division at 866 849-3548. For information on specialty or personalized plates visit the Tennessee Department of Revenue website. Online Driver's License Renewal To renew your driver license online, visit the. To receive our step-by-step guide for how to change the name on your license, , or to change the address on your license.
A bank statement or a copy of a rental agreement can also be considered proof of an address. We give you straightforward checklists that will get you back on the road safely and efficiently. Driver's license renewal laws by state Courtesy of iihs. Required License Renewal Documents Tennessee law now also requires you to show proof of citizenship the first time you renew your license. Be sure that you are properly protected by visiting our page for a comparison of rates. The only thing you must do is visit any driver service center. Finally, every driver has the right to renew in person.
All required fees must also be paid in this situation. Driving a motor vehicle without a valid drivers license is illegal in Tennessee, as is driving with expired credentials. People who are not citizens of the United States must renew their license in person. We are not affiliated with any government agency. This notice will be sent to the address on file for you and will clearly state the different ways in which to renew. Just because you did not receive a renewal notice reminder, does not signify that you should not renew on time.
To request reinstatement by mail, send a letter with your name, address, birthdate, Social Security number, phone number, license number, and reason your license was canceled to the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security. On this page you'll find information on how to renew your license online, by mail, and in person. You can renew as early as twelve 12 months before the date of your expiration. To navigate to the Military Personnel section of this page,. Applicants who attain age 60 on January 1, 2013 or after, will not qualify for a non-photo driver license based on age only. Valid Driver License If you hold a valid Tennessee driver's license, you can renew it up to 12 months before it expires.
Your Tennessee driver license status will determine how and when you can renew your license. If you are convicted and your license is suspended you must surrender your card or you will face additional fines. It is important to wear any corrective lenses at the time of the test, if needed. Fort Campbell Army Base is located in both the states of Tennessee and Kentucky. Required By clicking purchase below you certify that you agree to our and. If not, could you become part of, or even help set up, a car pool or shuttle service? If you are not a citizen you will have to show you are legally in the country and have proper documentation.
The renewal notice itself is not necessary for you to be able to renew your license. To download our step-by-step guide for his process,. If you have a lien on your vehicle and do not possess the title you should bring in your current vehicle registration and the full address of the lienholder. Two documents proving your current Tennessee will also be required at renewal. Applicants may also apply for limited services at. State law requires that all drivers provide proof of American citizenship or lawful presence at the time of their first license renewal by submitting the required documentation in-person to a licensing center.