A Class R license allows a licensee to operate non-commercial passenger vehicles in the state. Any single commercial motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 lbs. A Motorcycle License Class E or Endorsement M is for most vehicles with less than 4 wheels, including motor bikes and scooters. The holder may also drive a Class C vehicle, but not a motorcycle unless he or she has an appropriate endorsement. Insurance Before any driver can lawfully operate a vehicle in West Virginia, the vehicle must be properly insured. Any violation of these may result in serious consequences. The West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles does not offer provisional drivers licenses for business purposes at the moment.
For example, drivers who have been stopped multiple times for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol may be unable to get a license. Motorcycle licenses also start with a permit process. If you have never been licensed at a Level 2 or comparable, you must maintain the Instruction Permit for at least 30 days before you are eligible for the road skill test. A used vehicle is an excellent way to obtain reliable transportation while saving money. A Class 5 or 7 license holder can drive 2-axle vehicles except for Class 4 vehicles and motorcycles. Driver Education Learner Permit: Authorizes the holder to operate the same vehicles as a Class D license while taking an approved driver education course.
Class S: For drivers operating a school bus. Class D vehicles are passenger vehicles and all non-commercial vehicles that do not exceed 26,000 lbs. Intermediate drivers license holders must be accompanied by a licensed motorist who is older than 21 years of age when driving between the hours of 10 p. Free sites are nice, but ask yourself, what's the catch? With a Class A license and the appropriate endorsements, a driver may operate any vehicle covered within Classes B and C. Department of Motor Vehicle websites can help you sort through the subtleties of license classes. Bring your current license and one proof of residency to the office during branch hours to renew.
A new resident who does not have possession of the out-of-state license or if it has expired, must obtain a certified driving record, dated no more than 30 days from the date of the application, from the state in which they were previously licensed. The attorney listings on this site are paid attorney advertising. The holder may not drive in the city of New York. Vehicle is assumed to be garaged on premises and used primarily for commuting and is driven 15,000 miles annually. West Virginia Drivers License If you ever plan on hitting the West Virginia roads, you will need to obtain a drivers license. If you were born in another state, the has information on how to obtain a birth certificate.
This option is only available in certain instances, depending on the reason for the suspension. No time is too soon to start getting acquainted with the challenge ahead, so why not take your first shot at our introductory West Virginia drivers license practice test when you have finished reading this page? Such license will automatically become a class M license when the holder turns 18. The manual has comprehensive coverage of driving rules and regulations and it should be your primary source of information when it comes to learning the driving law. All license classes also require application forms, proof of age and name, vision tests and varying fees For non-commercial licenses, a permit is usually granted if you pass the written tests. In order to apply for a new drivers license in West Virginia, young motorists must be state residents and be able to demonstrate parental consent. Class 6B authorizes the holder to drive any motorcycle with an engine size of not more than 400 cc or a moped. Reading the official study material does not guarantee that you have understood the information well-enough to use it successfully in an exam environment, whereas answering legitimate questions based on that information can.
Once you pass: You will receive a Class E Instruction Permit, which is valid for 90 days. Get a Car Apply-License Consider your budget, lifestyle, and the area where you live when shopping for a car. Class 4 permits the operation of a bus having a seating capacity not exceeding 24 passengers; a taxi; an ambulance; any vehicle in Class 5; and any vehicle in Class 1, 2, 3, or 6 while the driver is supervised and learning to operate it. New drivers licenses cannot be obtained online or by mail. The minimum learning or licensing age is 16.
Every month, our editors are working to add and improve the questions and material we offer, as well as keeping it updated. In order to operate a motorcycle, licensees must obtain a motorcycle endorsement on their regular license. Please call the Motorcycle Licensing Section at 304-926-2509 if you have any questions. Class E licenses are for drivers whose employment involves transporting property or persons for hire or driving a vehicle owned by another person in the course of their employment. Class 4 motor vehicles are buses that have a seating capacity of not more than 24 passengers, public service vehicles used in the operation of a taxi service when being used for hire, ambulances when being used for hire minimum age 18.
If driving a school bus, you would also need a Passengers Vehicles P and School Bus P Edorsement. T Endorsement: Authorizes the holder to drive double trailers. Part 172, Subpart F, as amended through January 1, 1993. A birth certificate or passport can verify your name and age, and a utility bill can prove your state residency. The application process for each type of license and endorsement is similar to that of your standard West Virginia driver's license. Generally, this permit grants you the right to operate a vehicle only if you are accompanied by a licensed motorist who is at least 21 years of age.
Slight differences may occur in weight restrictions for operation and towing. The Class E license may be endorsed under the provisions of section seven-b of this article for motorcycle operation. A Class A or Class B license, or a Class C license with endorsements for double or triple trailers, buses, tank trucks, or hazardous materials is a commercial license. For more information, please visit our page. Any person between the ages of 14 and 16 and who resides upon or works upon a farm may apply for a farm permit. In addition, the A, B and C classes each have separate weight restrictions for both the main operational vehicle and any items being towed. A Class 4 license authorizes the holder to operate taxis, ambulances, and other emergency vehicles; buses with a seating capacity between 10 and 24 passengers while carrying passengers ; school buses with a seating capacity between 10 and 36 passengers while carrying passengers ; includes class 5 vehicles.
Class 6A authorizes the holder to drive any motorcycle or moped. Group N licenses authorize holders to drive a tank vehicle. A Class A license holder can drive any vehicle or combination of vehicles. H Endorsement: Authorizes the holder to drive vehicles, regardless of size or class, except tank vehicles when transporting hazardous material that requires the vehicle to be placarded. Class C Driver License: authorizes the operation of any vehicle for which a commercial license is not required except those vehicles requiring an endorsement.